

iCROPM2016



International Crop Modelling Symposium

"Crop Modelling for Agriculture and Food Security under Global Change"



15-17 March 2016, Berlin, Germany

www.icropm2016.org



General Programme (main sessions):

- 1. Improvement of crop models and modelling approaches Chair: S. Asseng (UF, US)
- 2. Linking crop models and genetics Chair: G. Hammer (UQ, AU)
- 3. Crop modelling for risk/impact assessment Chair: C. Nendel (ZALF, DE)
- 4. Expanding and supporting modelling activities Chair: J. Olesen (UA, DK)

Rationale and aims:

Agriculture, global change and food security are closely interrelated and are of increasing concern to society. Plant production is the most important primary process to obtain biomass for use as food and feed. Efforts to understand plant production and impacts on food and feed supply under a changing environment increasingly rely on mathematical models and data to develop and improve them. Additional demands on crop modelling are posed by integrated assessment modelling of agricultural systems. While progress has been made in crop and grassland modelling particularly in recent years in larger international programs such as AgMIP, MACSUR and CCAFS, a number of challenges still remain. Therefore, the aims of the symposium are:

Key Note Speakers:

Andy Challinor (University of Leeds, UK)

Achim Dobermann (RRES, UK)

Graeme Hammer (University of Queensland, AUS)

James Jones (University of Florida, US)

Brian Keating (CSIRO, AUS)

Martin Kropff (Wageningen UR, NL / CIMMYT)

Serge Savary (INRA, FR)

- > Review the recent advances in modelling crops and grasslands to support improved agricultural production and food security under global change
- > Identify key challenges and the future role of crop modelling

Call for Papers

Important Dates

Deadline for abstract submission 30 Sep 2015
Abstract acceptance 15 Nov 2015
Open Registration 15 Aug 2015
Early Bird registration ends 15 Dec 2015
Regular registration ends 31 Jan 2016

Symposium Organizers

Frank Ewert (University of Bonn, DE)

Kenneth J. Boote (University of Florida, US)

Reimund P. Rötter (Luke, FI)

Peter Thorburn (CSIRO, AUS)

Claas Nendel (ZALF, DE) - local host